An old dog… and some new tricks

I have acquired a lot of skills, both technical and professional over the years. As I mentioned in my flipgrid video, I have quite an eclectic history with technology. Using technology in the business world for the past decade has made me quite proficient in Microsoft Office, Photoshop, and Publisher, to name a few. More recently, I have been an avid user of Twitter.

So my interest in educational technology is piqued, but where to begin? I hope that by taking this course I will learn how to navigate the many apps that are available, know what can be valuable and effective in the classroom, and be confident in knowing how to use them!

Most of all, I want to catch up to my 10 year old son, who has used YouTube to learn how to bake a lava cake, make a homemade blow gun, and uploads videos to his own YouTube channel. His goal is to have one million subscribers*. My goal is to know a lot more than I do now! So, what do you say? Are you ready to jump into the deep end with me?

26216612204_643e5f291f
Photo Credit: San Diego Shooter via Compfight cc

*edit 05/16/2016 – I’ve just been informed by my son that his goal is actually to have more than 1o million subscribers – apparently you get special play buttons for reaching different subscriber numbers (?) Something to look into!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

