Persuasive or reactive – Changing the plan midstream

Ok so this week I taught a Halloween-themed Persuasive Writing lesson for the Grade 8 class that went over really well!

After critiquing my own persuasive writing example of why Lifesavers are the best Halloween candy, the students were able to choose one of the following topics:

  1. Should students be allowed to celebrate Halloween at school? Why or Why not?
  2. Should parents get to eat candy their kids bring home from Trick-or-Treating? Why or Why not?
  3. At what age should kids stop Trick-or-Treating? Why?
  4. What’s the coolest Halloween costume anyone could ever be? Why?
  5. What is the best type of Halloween candy? Why?
  6. Scientists have discovered a way to turn people into zombies. Write a letter to convince your parents why you should become one.
  7. Write a letter to your principal explaining why there should be a day off from school for Halloween.

To hear about how our day went, feel free to watch the video reflection below that April Hoffman and I have recorded for our Pre-internship experience this week (#3). Take a look and let me know if you have any questions or feedback about our day!

I also had the pleasure of reading the great math lesson on my lunch break! Frankly, Ryan Tisdale had me as soon as he mentioned Jimmy Fallon, but when he planned a Fractions and Probability discussion around Egg Roulette with David Beckham, that’s when I knew that Ryan was speaking my language.

We all know that keeping current is huge when getting kids engaged in school. Any time I can bring in an entertaining video to appeal to the kids, I will take it!

Even without a funny video today in ELA, I was quite happy with the engagement level of the class. Nothing captures a kids interest like Halloween and candy, and I think the calm of the students working foreshadowed their enthusiasm to share their persuasive arguments relating to Halloween, candy and zombies. Overall, it was a recipe that we were all able to sink our teeth into today.

Stay tuned next week when I plan part 2 of the ELA lesson to follow up with this and help them really polish their draft into a finished product… kind of like these Lifesavers.

Leave a Reply

